Issue link: http://itf.uberflip.com/i/619437
ITF Rules of Beach Tennis 2016 Page 19 of 28 APPENDIX VI ROLE OF COURT OFFICIALS The referee is the final authority on all questions of tennis law and the referee's decision is final. In matches where a chair umpire is assigned, the chair umpire is the final authority on all questions of fact during the match. The players have the right to call the referee to court if they disagree with a chair umpire's interpretation of tennis law. In matches where line umpires are assigned, they make all calls (including foot-fault calls) relating to that line. The chair umpire has the right to overrule a line umpire if the chair umpire is sure that a clear mistake has been made. The chair umpire is responsible for calling any line (including foot-faults) where no line umpire is assigned. A line umpire who cannot make a call shall signal this immediately to the chair umpire who shall make a decision. If the line umpire cannot make a call, or if there is no line umpire, and the chair umpire cannot make a decision on a question of fact, the point shall be replayed. In team events where the referee is sitting on-court, the referee is also the final authority on questions of fact. Play may be stopped or suspended at any time the chair umpire decides it is necessary or appropriate. The referee may also stop or suspend play in the case of darkness, weather or adverse court conditions. When play is suspended for darkness, this should be done at the end of a set, or after an even number of games have been played in the set in progress. After a suspension in play, the score and position of players on-court in the match shall stand when the match resumes. The chair umpire or referee shall make decisions regarding continuous play and coaching in respect of any Code of Conduct that is approved and in operation. Case 1: A ball is called out, but a player claims that the ball was good. May the referee be called to court to make a decision? Decision: No. The chair umpire makes the final decision on questions of fact (issues relating to what actually happened during a specific incident). Case 2: Is a chair umpire allowed to overrule a line umpire at the end of a point if, in the chair umpire's opinion, a clear mistake was made earlier in the point? Decision: No. A chair umpire may only overrule a line umpire immediately after the clear mistake has been made. Case 3: A line umpire calls a ball "Out" and then the player argues that the ball was good. Is the chair umpire allowed to overrule the line umpire? Decision: No. A chair umpire must never overrule as the result of the protest or appeal by a player Case 4: A line umpire calls a ball "Out". The chair umpire was unable to see clearly, but thought the ball was in. May the chair umpire overrule the line umpire?