Issue link: http://itf.uberflip.com/i/619437
ITF Rules of Beach Tennis 2016 Page 10 of 28 Case 1: A member of the receiving doubles team touches the net before the ball that has been served touches the ground outside the correct court. What is the correct decision? Decision: The receiving doubles team loses the point because one of them touched the net while the ball was in play. Case 2: Does a doubles team lose the point if an imaginary line in the extension of the net is crossed before or after hitting the ball? Decision: The doubles team does not lose the point in either case provided a member of that doubles team does not touch the opposing team's court. Case 3: A player throws the racket at the ball in play. Both the racket and the ball land in the court on the opposing doubles team's side of the net and the members of the opposing doubles team are unable to reach the ball. Which doubles team wins the point? Decision: The doubles team throwing the racket at the ball loses the point. Case 4: A ball that has just been served hits either member of the receiving doubles team before it hits the ground. Which doubles team wins the point? Decision: The server wins the point. Case 5: A member of a doubles team standing outside the court hits the ball or catches it before it hits the ground and claims the point because the ball was definitely going out of the correct court. Decision: The doubles team loses the point, unless it is a good return, in which case the point continues. 25. A GOOD RETURN It is a good return if: a. The ball touches the net, cord or metal cable, strap or band, provided that it passes over any of them and hits the ground within the correct court; or b. The ball is returned outside the net posts, either above or below the level of the top of the net, provided that it hits the ground in the correct court; or c. A player's racket passes over the net after hitting the ball on the player's own side of the net and the ball hits the ground in the correct court; or d. A player/member of a doubles team hits the ball in play, which hits another ball lying in the correct court. 26. HINDRANCE If a player is hindered in playing the point by a deliberate act of the opponent (s), that player/team shall win the point. However, the point shall be replayed if a player is hindered in playing the point by either an unintentional act of the opponent (s), or something outside the player's own control (not including a permanent fixture). Case 1: Is an unintentional double hit a hindrance? Decision: No. Case 2: A player/member of a doubles team claims to have stopped play because the player thought that an opponent was being hindered. Is this a hindrance? Decision: No, the player/doubles team loses the point. Case 3: A ball in play hits a bird flying over the court. Is this a hindrance? Decision: Yes, the point shall be replayed.